Celebrate Good Times!

Yesterday was one of my most rewarding days in Uganda so far.  My class at Cranes Preparatory School finished Level 1 last Thursday, but they requested another day in order to celebrate our experience together and the principles they have learned.  We decided that Tuesday was a good day since we were already used to that schedule.  My assignment was dessert and soda, and the others were going to cook some food.

Sula was in charge of the food preparation.  He had help from the librarian and some of the other staff.  We ate seasoned rice, Irish potatoes, beet greens, cooked cabbage salad, and beef.  It was very tasty.  Dessert was different kinds of cookies.

The best part was the program that Christopher prepared.  He wrote on the board:

We join the rest of the world to celebrate William Kamkwamba’s achievement.

Special speech on the following themes in reference to the book

*Power of friendship

*Power of personal inspiration

*Power of Classics

*Power of good parents

He invited anyone interested to choose a topic and speak for no longer than 5 minutes.

Wahab, the director at Cranes, went first and spoke about Classics.  He talked about how even an advanced degree like a PhD does not mean that your education mirrors what is in your heart.  Pursuing your education through classics allows you to identify your core values and tailor your education to the preparation to fulfill your life’s purpose.

Meghan, the director of LEU, spoke next and shared part of The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind in which William Kamkwamba faced ridicule and opposition, yet he pressed forward to achieve his goal.

Sula, the deputy headmaster, spoke next about the power of good parents.  He shared his personal experience of taking the Level 2 classes three years ago.  They read The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.  Sula said, “As I read the book, I realized I was a dictator in my own home.  If I wanted meat, I told my wife that I would eat meat and I would eat my small plate of food without considering my children.  Now I tell my children, ‘Look, I have some small coins.  What would you like to eat?’  I allow them to choose, and we prepare it and eat it together.”

I felt bad at this point, because the late start was making me late for my next class.  I told them I had to leave, but first I wanted to award them their certificates.  Wahab and Sula both have a certificate from their previous completion of the course, so I awarded certificates to (in order of appearance) Christopher, Arojjo, Paul, and Abdu.

Christopher then said, “We are sorry to see you go, Brother Jonathan.  And we regret that you will not be part of our wonderful conversation which shall continue in your absence.”  It is amazing to me that they understand and love the principles of Leadership Education that they will continue to pursue it even if I am not there.  Leadership Education will continue to grow in Uganda after I leave.  That makes me very happy!

~ by Jonathan on July 27, 2011.

6 Responses to “Celebrate Good Times!”

  1. WOW!!! This is so wonderful, Jonathan! It is so great to see leadership education being embraced in the hearts of these amazing people.

  2. I agree Rachel and I think it’s great to see leadership education being embraced at home. Thanks for all your work and leadership in that effort!

  3. I love you brother! I am so proud of you!!!!

  4. Jonathan,
    Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience with me!
    Fatimah

Leave a comment